HOTHOTHOT

20140203-161957.jpg

After returning from our annual sojourn to the Tennis and seeing some great matches, instead of comfortably settling in to our business routine, we have endured amazing temperatures that would dry an egg. So reading has been the one saving fact fire of being confined to barracks. GONE GIRL, THE HAPPINESS JAR and several other easy to read books have been the order of the day.

Whilst these books are interesting I find that I gravitate back to a few books I have grown to love over the years.

The first book is SHANTARAM and this will remain one of most beautiful books I have had the pleasure to read. But most of my reading time is taken up with dry economics and brain development.

What makes me stop however is reading CHINESE POETRY. It is so connective when one is interested in nature. Something makes me stop thinking like everyone else and considering things from a whole new perspective. It is gentle and at the same time harsh. It takes some time to get into it and it’s not all Confucius says;. Confucius has a roll to play but their are many others.

Here is a sample of some of the work:

Blinding heat divides day from night,
Brands short shadows into fecund soil,
Green tendrils, heavy with beans,
Coil around rustic bamboo sticks.
Violet flowers gape erotically among velvet leaves:
A single gourd contains the entire world’s dream.
( this is from Daily Meditations, Deng Ming-Dao)

I am constantly thankful I found this book and daily I
Pick it up and try to understand the meaning of the meditation or poem.

Whilst my reading is slow and sometimes strange in taste, it affords me a welcome edge on things when the normal things in life are just that. I thank all of the authors of these wonderful books.

Bristlehound 2014

Leave a Reply

